Great Wall Facts

Great Wall Facts

Chinese Name: ??/????

Chinese Pinyin: Ch?ng Chéng/Wàn L? Ch?ng Chéng

English Translation: Great Wall/Great Wall of 10,000 Li

Length: 8,851.8 km (5,500 miles)

Builder: the ancient Chinese laboring people (common people, farmers, soldiers and slaves)

Construction Period: About 2,000 years from the Warring States Period (476 BC - 221 BC) to Ming Dynasty (1368-1644)

Great Wall Facts

Enjoying the fame of "Wan Li Chang Cheng", Great Wall starts from Hushan in Liaoning in the east and ends at Jiayuguan Pass in Gansu in the west, via the nine provinces or cities in northern China, including Liaoning, Hebei, Beijing, Tianjin, Shanxi, Shaanxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia and Gansu. It is often compared to a huge dragon winding up and down in the mountains, grassland and deserts. In Chinese history, over 20 states and Dynasties have built the wall,

and the sections built in Qin (221 BC-206 BC), Han (206BC-220) and Ming (1368-1644) Dynasties exceed 10,000 Li (about 3,107 miles). The new survey of the length of the wall in Ming Dynasty has confirmed that it is 8,851.8 km (5,500 miles) long.

Great Wall Facts

At present, the Great Wall has already lost its military function, and many sections have been repaired and opened to the public. Among them, Badaling is the most famous which receives the most visitors from home and abroad. Mutianyu is famous for its spectacular scenery, Jinshanling and Simatai are well known for the wildness and cragginess, and Jiankou is attracted by its dangerous location. Due to these varieties, it's no wonder that Great Wall is the most welcomed scenic sight in China.

Most visited: Badaling

The most eastern section (Ming Dynasty): Hushan

The most western section (Ming Dynasty): Jiayuguan

The most western section (Han Dynasty): Yumenguan

The most dangerous section (Ming Dynasty): Jiankou

The earliest wall: built in Chu State in Warring States Period (476 BC - 221 BC)

The section with most construction styles: Great Wall in Zhangjiakou City

The highest section: built in 2,000m (6,562 feet) tall Huapiling and bingshanliang mountains in Zhangjiakou City

The section with most fortresses & the section where the most frequent wars took place: Great Wall in Zhangjiakou City

The No.1 city terrace:

Zhenbeitai in Shaanxi

The No.1 fortress:

Jiayuguan Pass in Gansu

The No.1 tower:

Nine-Eye Tower in Beijing

The No.1 city gate:

Dajing Gate in Zhangjiakou

The first pass under heaven:

Shanhaiguan Pass in Hebei

The three inner side passes:

Juyongguan, Zijingguan, and Daomaguan Passes

The three outer side passes:

Yanmenguan Pass, Ningwuguan Pass, Pianguan Pass

The eight big passes:

Shanhaiguan Pass, Juyongguan, Zijingguan Pass,
Yanmenguan Pass, Niangziguan Pass,
Pianguan Pass, and Yumenguan Pass.

The first Chinese finished hiking the wall:

Liu Yutian in 1984

The first foreigner to explore the whole length

William Edgar Geil in 1908

Virtual Field Trip: The Great Wall of China

Site Search


Random Articals


Join Our Newsletter



Send This Page to Friend

To Email this page to a friend

1. Use Your Default Email Client
2. Use Our Recommend Page

Online Contact



+ 86 158 00 323 707

+ 86 158 00 323 707

Go back to the previous page

Missing / Incorrect

If you like this article please feel free to share it to your favorite site listed below:

Choose A Style:

Font Family


Courier New

Sans MS

New Roman



Font Colors
black blue green purple red white
Font Size
Site Options Help | Admin Login
control panel